Let’s Talk About the Bawse Book 

“One, love, superwoman. That is a wrap, annnnnd zoop!”

If you didn’t say that in your head in true Lilly Singh aka Superwoman fashion, you probably don’t know who she is. In which case, it’s best to check her out yourself before reading more because this post is going to be all about Lilly and her first book, How To Be A Bawse. No, not Boss, Bawse.

I’m a little late jumping on the #BawseBook bandwagon due to the fact that I am still a broke college kid and because university and its’ $400 textbooks have forever ruined reading for me, but that’s a story for another day. I finally bought the book and just like people say, it’s pretty damn good.

If you’re looking for an instant noodles step-by-step guide on how to become a YouTube sensation complete with quotes like “study hard” and “network” then this book isn’t for you. It’s not a book that will tell you what you want to hear, but rather what you need to hear and without all the bullshit in between. 

How to Be a Bawse is made up of advice and experiences about self-love, life, and success, sprinkled with humor and realness on top. It’s the type of book that you can’t digest in one day and I say that in the most positive way possible because I honestly believe you shouldn’t. While some people have sped through the book in a few hours, I have taken it a chapter or two at a time just to really digest it. There are 50 super small chapters all focusing on different aspects of life ranging from your ex’s to being your goofy self and all 50 chapters force you to dig deep to the root of your life so you can dig out the gunk festering there and start new. It helps you reflect which, if you’ve learned anything about me by now, is something I think is incredibly important for self-growth.

One of my favorite quotes from the book says “You are not a teetering tower. Your career is not standing on one leg getting a Breathalyzer test on the side of the road. Your success is not a game of Jenga. You cannot be made or broken so easily,” and considering what’s going on in my life at the moment, it’s a book that fell into my lap at just the right moment. 

Lilly reminds me to live my life, be humble, and be me. She reminds me to strive for what I want, be grateful for what I have, and fight for more. In a time when people are so desperate for quick solutions to long-term problems, she writes about how to overcome this while casually calling you out on your bullshit; after all, she’s lived it too.


Now I’m not one to fall for Youtuber merchandise and gimmicks but the reason I bought this book (aside from the fact that my 12-year-old sister was nagging me about it) was because I view Lilly as a humble person and her words have meaning to me. Watching a Youtuber like her is more than falling in love with her outros or laughing along to her relatable content. It’s admiring her because of who she is because she strives to do and be better. She’s not just someone who makes a video and calls it a day. She makes an impact and I was curious about what her book had to say and if it reflected who I thought I saw on screen, and it does.

Lilly Singh writes about love, success, failure, and proves that she really is Superwoman, and you can be too. So if that sounds great to you, head to your nearest bookstore and pick it up. It’s worth the read. 

 

Like and Share:

