001: Short Hunt

Spring is finally here!

I know, I know, I’m a little bit late but I blame life in Florida -which means living in a purgatory of spring and summer – for my delayed excitement. Nonetheless I’m glad to say that spring has finally sprung (Ha)!

Now, don’t get it twisted. Spring doesn’t rank as one of my favorite seasons by any means, but after a long winter and bipolar weather, it’s nice to have some heat to be able to rock some shorts.

As usual, shorts are something that people (myself included) are rushing to buy as it gets warmer because they’re one of the easiest articles of clothing to style. For me, there are only five shorts that I think are essential to have in your wardrobe and once you’ve got them, you’re pretty much set for the rest of the year. Here are some of the styles I hunt for every year.

_MG_6716 (2)_edited

A Pair of High-waisted

As a girl with a larger middle section, high waisted shorts are the best. Up until last year I was under the illusion that high waisted anythings would look stumpy on me but these white pinstripe shorts are my absolute favorite. High-waisted shorts are perfect because they hold everything in (including your food-baby) and in my case they elongate my torso so that I don’t look so stumpy, which is a plus. The clean lines of this pair also add a touch of class to any outfit. I bought these pair from Ann Taylor at the start of their spring collection and though they were a bit pricy (around $39.99), they were definitely worth it.

Denim Cutoffs & Festival

shortsYou’ve seen them on every beauty blogger at every music festival from the Outside Lands to Coachella. They’re the shorts you dad would prefer you didn’t wear out, but they’re your favorite. Cut-offs and Festival Shorties are awesome because denim is classic, customizable, and unlike other pairs, these are the easiest to DIY. Mine are made from some old boyfriend jeans I wore to death -and as a side note, oversized boyfriend denim makes the BEST festival shorts. As jeans, these ran me about $19.99 on sale, but when compared to the typical price of store bought festival shorties, prices range from $40 and up.

The Flowy Kind

I call these flow shorts strictly because they’re less structured than my high waisted pair, and are made of a chifon material that allows them to flow like a skirt -minus the anxiety and panic of flashing everyone on the street should a rogue gust of wind kick up. These are the best for casual days out or lounging around the house.

A Nautical Pair

Stripes and nautical themes are big for spring and I think they make outfits look sophisticated and effortless. With stripes, you don’t really have to do much work other than pair it with a comfy sweater or a plain top with very little details. And if you’re really daring, throw on a statement necklace and you’re good to go. I recommend Old Navy for a light weight pair that’s not going to break the bank.

POP! of Color

If all else fails, a pop of color in some shorts is the easiest way to go. Whether they’re purple like mine, or a bright turquoise, or yellow, they’re sure to add a lot to you outfit. They’re also a great way to brighten up your wardrobe and break you out of the richer and deeper tones of the winter season.

There are still a ton more types of shorts I could get into, but these are my top favorites. Which ones are yours and what’s a spring must have that you look for every year? Let me know in the comments!

 

Like and Share:

