Netflix Shows I’m Obsessed With 

From The OA to The Walking Dead, Netflix is known for offering shows and movies we love, but lately, Netflix stepped up its game and added a gold mine of original shows. Here are some of my top favorite originals and movies.

Stranger Things

This show had me hooked from the moment the Demogorgan snatched Will in that that tiny little shed he called home. As the topic of a lot of talk and awards, I really didn’t want to fall into the hype surrounding the show, but after the first episode I really couldn’t help it. It was so good! For those who haven’t seen it, Stranger Things is a fantasy thriller that mixes old school vibes with twilight zone ideas. It’s about these kids who are on a quest to find their friend Will who mysteriously disappeared at the same time that a girl named Eleven (yes, like the number) appears. They do all of this while avoiding a monster dubbed the Demogorgan along with other antagonists of the show.

Honestly, the Demogorgan is what really caught my attention because it is easily one of the best horror monsters I’ve seen in a while. Even when it didn’t make an appearance, it had me on my toes. My anxiety was through the roof watching the show, but it did have enough comedic relief in place to make sure I didn’t have a heart attack. Definitely worth a watch and the hype!

A Series of Unfortunate Events

This one was a book series turned TV series that didn’t disappoint. I spent a good portion of my childhood reading about Violet, Sunny, and Klaus Baudelaire and all of their misfortunes, but when I saw that Netflix had a show on it, I was a little skeptical. The movie didn’t do the books justice and I was worried that Netflix would do the same, but it wasn’t too bad. Neil Patrick Harris is such a talented and witty actor that he makes the perfect Count Olaf and the kids are portrayed fairly well (despite Sunny’s occasional CGI glitchiness). I also loved that Netflix didn’t try to cram entire books into one episode unless necessary and I’m a little bit of a sucker for shows and characters that occasionally break the forth wall (Think: Deadpool). It was good enough that I’m sticking around for the second season just to see what else happens.

Black Mirror

At first glance, this once seemed like one of those movies that falls into the weird side of Netflix, but once I started watching it really surprised me. I was really confused that it started off with Season 3, but I quickly found out that it doesn’t really matter what order you watch the episodes in because they aren’t related at all. There’s no main character or main story and it’s essentially a futuristic themed version of Twilight Zone that focuses on little themes throughout each episode, such as avoiding problems and social media addiction. So far my favorite episode is “PlayTest” where a young man traveling Europe to escape his problems finds an opportunity with a horror video game developer who is looking to test their new virtual reality product. As you can guess, it goes horribly wrong but not in the way you’d expect. Watch it if you’re into psychological shows.
As for movies, my top two have to be Final Girl and Hush. I’m all about women empowerment and the heroines of these two movies really kick some ass.

Final Girl features a girl named Veronica who seems to be trained to take out bad guys. Her first mission entirely on her own is to take down a group of young serial killers by getting close to them and outsmarting them. It’s a very photogenic movie that makes it seem like a stage play so don’t expect a lot of action packed scenes, but it’s very beautifully done and I loved the idea of an innocent little girl making victims out of her attackers.

Hush took me for a loop when I first watched it. It features a woman who is deaf and is attacked at home by a random antagonist. This movie was cool because there was very little dialogue which forced me to focus on a lot of the details of what was going on in the scene. It was also cool to see that despite the odds being stacked against her, she could still be a badass and defend herself. I’d love to see more movies like this where the “disabled” are able to be their own heroes because Hush really blew my mind.

That’s all I’ve got for now, but be sure to leave a comment below and let me know what you’re currently watching on Netflix and/or what your favorite shows are!

Like and Share:

