Update (part 2): Failures, Disappointment, and Starting Over 

So, let’s chat. 

“What’s been going on with you Gigi? What have you been up to?”

Well, for starters, I sort of dropped out of school… temporarily. With only two classes left before I graduate and due to circumstances that weren’t completely in my control, I decided to temporarily withdraw from school. It’s been incredibly tough getting through the year and despite being so close to finishing, I don’t want to force myself to do anything I’m not passionate about.

For the record, school has never been my passion and I realize that I never went to university because I really wanted to, but because it was something I thought people my age should do.

Just like when I was 18 and I thought that was the prime age to move out of my moms house (lol), being 20 and being in college just seemed like what I should do so I went for it and unfortunately it backfired.

College has been one of the greatest experiences of my life. I got to meet a ton of people, do cool things, form lasting relationships, and I gained a voice for myself, but I knew a long time ago that I didn’t want to be in school and with everything going on, this was the right time to come to terms with that.

One of the biggest things that kept me from making this decision a long time ago was disappointment. I didn’t want to disappoint my peers, my teachers, my family, or anyone else that believed in me to do great things.

I honestly feel that my entire support group which includes professionals and professors, worked just as hard (if not harder) to help me get where I am today as a young journalist, and I didn’t want to let them down because it meant all of their hard work was for nothing.

To me, quitting meant that I was ungrateful for the help they’ve given me when it’s he exact opposite. I am sooo greatful for every opportunity my supporters have given me, but at this point I can’t be afraid to make change because I’m afraid of disappointing others.

If I do that, at the end of the day, I’ll only continue to disappoint myself.

Anyway, I’ve been working on things that make me happy and finding ways to start over and kindle new passions in things like fashion and photography. These are things I’m hoping to share with you all soon. But other than that, I’ve been great.

The break from my obligations is much needed, and I know that once I’m able to get back into the swing of things I’ll be bigger and better than before.

As always, don’t forget to tell me what you guys think in the comments. Do you understand what I meant about disappointment? How did you push through? 

Like and Share:

