Goodbye 2016

I’m a hoarder of memories. There are a lot of things that I like to keep around to remind me of the good and the bad times but now that 2016 is ending, I think it’s only right to let some of it go. 

Some people believe that fire can wipe away the bad to make room for the good and this year, I wanted to start 2017 by wiping my slate clean and I figured burning everything I was holding on to from the past was a great way to do that.

I started with pictures, postcards, letters and cards, but then my family joined in and burned things like divorce papers, diaries, and even eviction notices.

Digging up old memorabilia and watching them burn filled me with a lot of sadness but also a lot of relief. I got rid of a lot of negativity and false hope that I was holding on to in order to really start a new year the right way.  I can tell you guys that 2016

The one thing I couldn't burn, a photo of my cousin, his fiance, and their son.
The one thing I couldn’t burn, a photo of my cousin, his fiance, and their son.

was filled with a lot of heartbreak, disappointment, and grief, but there was also a lot of good. Still, I don’t want to go into 2017 with anything weighting me down from the past. I want to go in hitting the ground running with new hopes, goals, and aspirations. Here’s to starting the year new.

 

Happy New Years everyone.

Like and Share:

