Great Smells On A Budget

I’m a sucker for perfumes in pretty bottles especially if they’re for a great price. Recently, I tossed out some of my empty or unused products and I decided to share my favorite scents with you guys. Now, I still have about five other scents to share, but these are the more inexpensive but quality ones that I use more often, so if you’re on a budget, these will be great for you. Also, considering it’s the holiday season, these would make great last minute stocking-stuffers!

Thé Matcha

Described as: Green tea, citrus, white flowers
Great for: Day wear

img_5386
This one along with Pistachio Brulee, are great to wear on days in. Both ring in at about $18 a piece at Urban Outfitters. Matcha really reminds me of a diluted gardenia fragrance. It’s very light, and great for people who don’t like to wear heavier tones. This is usually one of the first scents I spritz on when I’m hopping out of the shower or when I’m heading out to run errands and it’s definitely my most worn scent. It’s a super fresh smell but it’s not overpowering. I have the 1 oz. bottle, but once this is done, I’ll definitely be upgrading to a bigger size.

Pistachio Brûlée

Described as: Milk vanilla mousse, pistachio, vanilla bean
Great for: Day wear

img_5387

The thing with Brûlée is that it’s very heavy on the vanilla notes. This one is charming and cozy. I typically wear this on days at the office or blogging days because the vanilla relaxes me. Honestly, if this were a candle, I would burn it everyday. Lavender and vanilla are some of my favorite smells, and this one is really great for making me feel very zen.  As a side note, both Matcha and Brûlée mix well together. So if you’re like me and you like to double up on the perfume, these two scents won’t clash, but they are both so light that sometimes I find myself wearing a lot more of it to get a richer fragrance. So if you like to lay it on, opt for the bigger bottles or one of the richer scents below.

Rogue by Rihanna

Descrbied as: lemon blossom, cyclamen, jasmine, rose, plum and suede over a base of musk, woods, patchouli, vanilla and amber
Great for: Everyday

img_5389

I’m a huge Rihanna fan so I admit to some bias when I initially bought this scent, but it actually surprised me. This one I received as a gift but it rings in at about $30-$60 depending on where you buy it. At first spritz it has a soft almost baby powder fresh smell to it, but it gets heavier and richer as it wears, and then you start to get the muskier more feminine tones. I typically wear this one to work because it lasts all day and I don’t have to use too much of it. Where Matcha and Brûlée are lighter scents, this one is more in the middle. It’s not overpowering, it’s smells very sweet, and it’s very feminine.

Black Opium by Yves St. Laurent

Coffee Accord, Orange Blossom, Cedarwood Essence, Patchouli essence.
Great for: Night

img_5384

I originally heard about this scent from Youtuber HeyClaire, and since her style is basically my goals in life, I decided to check it out and it definitely wasn’t disappointing. Black Opium is a little bit more pricey, ringing at around $60-$120 easily, but it’s definitely worth the cost and the splurge. I bought the smaller bottle which fits in the palm of my hand just to be sure I liked it, but I’ll definitely upgrade to a bigger bottle once this is done. For me, it’s a night-time going out smell. I don’t smell the coffee in it at all, but I do smell the cedar wood and orange blossom. I’d say this one is richer than the other three, and smells more mature as well. Also, where Rogue is very feminine, this has a spiciness to it. So this is great for anyone with an edgier style.

So there you have it, four of my most worn perfumes. Let me know what you think about them, and if you’ve tried any in the comments below! 

Like and Share:

