Food for Thought: Joining the Ranks of the StormTroopers

I woke up this morning, took the dog out, grabbed my phone and headphones, bounced over to Starbucks for a Mocha Grande, plopped myself on the seats outside, and decided to spend the two hours I had before work, catching up on the news of the online world. This, is my typical Monday morning, and as I listened to the ‘Resident Evil Soundtrack’ and scanned the pages of other bloggers for ‘inspiration’ for a new look to my blog, I realized something. I’ve probably changed my blog about twenty times and each time, I’ve hated it. Don’t get me wrong, I love my blog dearly, so why is it that I can’t figure out the right look for it? Why am I so dissatisfied with it? Then it hit me. It’s because every design I happen to throw on my blog, is not a design I had created. With a notebook full of idea’s for my blog, including designs, it’s a wonder I spend more time looking at the designs of others that at my own. Then I realized, this isn’t just about my blog, it’s about my life too.

Remember how I mentioned I’m typing this up at Starbucks? Well, fun fact about me is that I hate Starbucks… with a passion… and yet here I am with my big shades and ‘perfectly’ created Frappe, drinking this bitter frozen drink and noting how much it tastes nothing like McDonald’s Mocha Frappe. So why did I spend the $4.87 to get it? Because of every picture with a pretty blonde with big shades and a frozen latte on my Instagram that suggested I should.

Image

Look, I even instagrammed it too.

Lately, I’ve found myself falling into the trap of becoming and doing things just like everyone else. Now, normally, I don’t really go out of my way to show my individuality, and when I do, it gets mistaken for similarity (like when I sported a half-shaved do that everyone thought was skin to Rihanna’s) but as of late, it’s gotten worse. I spend so much time looking at other people, what they’re doing, how they’re doing it, their style, the way they walk, and speak, and it’s made me feel like I’m turning into one of them, and I noticed I’m not the only one.

Look around. How many people do you see that really stand out? How many of them look like individuals instead of a bland part of an entire mass? When people walk in crowds, it’s funny how they all seem to blend in with each other, how they all look somewhat different, but still mostly the same. It’s sad that as much as we scream we’re different, we’re not and it begs the question, where has our individuality gone? Did we lose it somewhere along our never ending twitter feed, perhaps somewhere among the millions of likes we accumulate on Instagram. Maybe society took it from us.

I know a lot of people would blame our media, but I blame ourselves. We gave up our individualities to be like everyone else. To be as sexy as Megan Fox or Angelina Jolie, to be as cool as Rihanna instead of embracing who we really are like Jennifer Lawrence has.

Yes, we have a lot on our plates. We are all trying to put our best foot forward and become who we were meant to be but some of us need to realize that we were not meant to be other people, especially our favorite celebrities. As much as I love Rihanna, my waistline and my accent as well as my genetic make up (sadly) will not allow me to be her. I can only be me and it’s time that I started living up to that because once I’m dead and gone, there won’t be another ME.

(Editors Note: Unless of course reincarnation is a real thing, then I Suppose there will be!)

I admit I’m a little silly, a little crazy, and a little messed up sometimes. I like to secretly rock out to One Direction and Big Time Rush and watched full seasons of both The Walking Dead and Adventure Time. I am a little addicted to cosplaying, I spend too many ungodly hours on Tumblr and I have seen every episode of Dragon Ball Z. At any given moment  can quote the Lord of the Rings or Back to the Future, I like to eat my body weight in pineapple and cheese pizza despite being lactose intolerant, and I can’t express enough how much I like to pretend I’m a mermaid when I’m taking a bath. Yes, maybe I have problems. Maybe I’m weird but that’s what makes me unique. So excuse me while take a little time out to step away from being part of the mold and embrace that uniqueness.

Like and Share:

